Sometimes We Wait

We all hate to wait. I hate to wait on the person in front of me at the check out line. I hate to wait in traffic. I hate to wait on the doctor. And I also don’t like it when I have to wait on God. G. Campbell Morgans said, “Waiting for God is not laziness. Waiting for God is not going to sleep. Waiting for God is not the abandonment of effort. Waiting for God means, first, activity under command; second, readiness for any new command that may come; third, the ability to do nothing until the command is given.” It is that “doing nothing” that I have a problem with. I know many of our church members and many of my friends are facing trials and they find themselves simply waiting on God. Earlier this evening I was listening to a CD and came across a beautiful song with an inspiring message. The song is entitled “Sometimes We Wait.”

Sometimes We Wait

Did Moses know when the branches spoke he would be the chosen one?
Or did his people know that a cloud of smoke would someday lead them home?
Sometimes God will speak through a bush of flames or pillars in the sky,
But at times His silence fills our days leaving us to wonder “Why?”.

Sometimes we wait, simply to find
Sometimes His answers come with time,
Not right away clearly to see,
Sometimes we never get those parted seas
That lead us from the shore.
But there is a place
Where we rest in His grace
When sometimes we wait on the Lord.

If I had my way, there would come a day with a never-ending dawn.
No more mournful sighs in the dark of night as I wonder where He’s gone.
I would never see how His mercy reigns beneath a cloudless sky.
There would be no need for healing grace to comfort when we cry.

Sometimes we wait, simply to find
Sometimes His answers come with time,
Not right away clearly to see,
Sometimes we never get those parted seas
That lead us from the shore.
But there is a place
Where we rest in His grace
When sometimes we wait on the Lord.

Listen Here

CCLI License # 1838110
Words and Music by Tom Grassi
Arranged by Tom Fettke
Published by Lillenas


Leave a Reply

