Fireworks and Evangelism

We had a great time as a family celebrating the fourth of July. Anna Grace Abrams had her birthday party at the Wilson Putt Putt. We joined several others for miniature golf and lunch at the Creamery. I was able to work a little on my sermon for Sunday morning. We went as a family to the church at about 8:30 p.m. I was anticipating doing a little work in the office before we watched the fireworks. Last night the Wilson Tobs were playing the Gastonia Grizzlies. Following the game at Fleming Stadium which is just a couple of blocks from our church building the Tobs treated the Wilson Community to a tremendous fireworks display. I wasn’t prepared for what I found when we pulled into the church parking lot. Our lot was full. Actually, both of our lots were full. The streets were full. People were sitting in the grass in front of our church in lawn chairs and on blankets. I decided the work I thought I was going to do could be done later. We had other work to do. Our parking lots are full on Sunday mornings, but nothing like what we saw last night. We grabbed a handful of tracts and went to work. We must have handed out 300-400 tracts. I talked personally with everyone who received a tract. We had several good conversations. I only had one person who didn’t want to take a tract. He was sitting on the steps in front of the church. He said, “No thanks.” I replied, “You are going to sit on my steps, but not accept my literature.” I smiled and explained to him what the tract was. His wife and friend took one gladly. Joanna had one lady that wouldn’t take a tract, but everyone else was very kind and thankful. Some wanted to know about our children’s programs or what kind of activities we had for their families. The tract had printed on it our schedule of service and our website address along with the radio broadcast information. I’m hoping that we will see some fruit from our efforts last night. The fireworks began at 9:42 p.m. and only lasted for about ten minutes, but everyone enjoyed the show.

4 thoughts on “Fireworks and Evangelism

  1. A great opportunity. I am glad you thought to do it. Maybe it can be an annual event with all the church participating.
    1Peter 3:15
    But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear:

    Thanks for the fireworks in Evangelism
    We need to remember to pray for those that got tracts.

  2. What a great opportunity! Oh, that we would take each opportunity that comes to us. Isaiah 55:11 – “So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth; it shall not return to Me void, but it shall accomplish what I please, and it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it.”

Leave a Reply

