Special Prayer Request from Pastor Gary Ledbetter

I received the following email last night. Pray for my good friend Pastor Gary Ledbetter and his wife Barbara. Brother Gary pastors the Kennerly Road Baptist Church in Irmo, SC, just outside Columbia.

In an effort to keep as many people informed as possible, we (KRBC office) have created the “Ledbetter Update” group to include our own church family as well as the many folks around the country who love and care for the Ledbetter family.  Thank you so much for your prayers for them at this time.

Shortly after 4:30pm Barbara’s colon surgery was over and she is now in recovery.  The surgeon was pleased that he was able to accomplish what he planned to do.  You may direct any questions or messages to the Ledbetters by replying to this e-mail and we will see that they are answered and delivered.

Please continue praying for strength for the Ledbetter family and our entire church family as well.

For those of you on this list who may not have seen it, I am including Pastor Ledbetter’s email to our church family from this past Friday.

Yesterday about 5:30pm, we received the reports from a colonoscopy and two CT scans.  Barbara has colon cancer, and the cancer has spread to her lungs.  We have an appointment with a surgeon this afternoon at 2:00.  Please pray for wisdom in decision making and for God to be glorified in our lives.

We praise our God for what He is doing.  We know beyond a shadow of a doubt that He is in complete control and is working all things out for His glory and for our good.  Barbara, Amy, Jonathan, Matthew, and I have a complete peace and trust in our faithful Lord.  Some very special verses to us have been Job 42:5 (“I have heard of thee by the hearing of the ear: but now mine eye seeth thee.”); Psalm 124:8 (“Our help is in the name of the LORD, who made heaven and earth.”); Psalm 18:1-2 (“I will love thee, O LORD, my strength. The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.”); Psalm 61:2 (“From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I.”); and Psalm 121.

1. I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help.

2. My help cometh from the LORD, which made heaven and earth.

3. He will not suffer thy foot to be moved: he that keepeth thee will not slumber.

4. Behold, he that keepeth Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep.

5. The LORD is thy keeper: the LORD is thy shade upon thy right hand.

6. The sun shall not smite thee by day, nor the moon by night.

7. The LORD shall preserve thee from all evil: he shall preserve thy soul.

8. The LORD shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in from this time forth, and even for evermore.

Thank you for your love and prayers for our family.  We pray for you daily, and we look forward to trusting God together with you in the days, weeks, and months ahead.

Resting in His strength alone,
Pastor Gary Ledbetter

Leave a Reply

