URGENT PRAYER REQUEST FOR MY FATHER ALLEN DAVIS

Below is the email I sent last night to my dad’s email list.

This is from Jeff Davis. Allen Davis is my father. In times past I have sat at his computer and sent out emails concerning my dad’s health. Without a miracle this will be one of the last emails because dad will soon be with his Savior. Our family was able to spend Christmas with Dad and Mom last week. We had a wonderful time and Dad did exceptionally well. We were even able to take pictures of the entire family including Julie’s family and just about everyone was smiling. On Saturday, my family returned to Wilson, NC. On Sunday morning I received a call from my sister that they had to take my dad to the E.R. He was suffering from a terrible headache. He had a CT scan on Sunday, but because of his pace maker/defibrillator he was not able to have an MRI. They kept him overnight and performed another CT scan on Monday morning. The tests looked to be fine so he was allowed to go home. He continued to have a bad headache. When I called Mom this morning at about 10:00 a.m. neither one of them had slept much. He was still in a lot of pain. Somewhere around lunch time he became unresponsive and Mom called EMS. They transported him to Anderson Medical in downtown Anderson and determined that he had an aneurysm rupture in his head. This afternoon they were able to drill and place a shunt in order to relieve the pressure. He is now in a deep coma. The doctors have been very good about communicating with the family. They are not very optimistic. He has very limited brain activity. There is still a glimmer of hope, but it is very small. We are all a little shocked. Most of you know the trouble he has had in the past with his heart and diabetes. We would have never anticipated this. When I hugged dad goodbye on Saturday, I told him I loved him and held him a little bit tighter. I’m not sure if I was the one instigating the longer embrace or him. I honestly walked to our vehicle with a lump in my throat wondering if we had just celebrated our last Christmas together on this earth. We honestly don’t know what the night holds for us or the next few weeks. As I said, the prognosis is not good. If he has improved brain function over the next couple of days he may be able to have some kind of recovery. If not, then obviously the family may have some tough decisions. We all covet your prayers.

Leave a Reply

