God is Big, Really Big!

A.W. Tozer stated:

“What comes into our minds when we think about God is the most important thing about us….  Worship is pure or base as the worshiper entertains high or low thoughts of God. For this reason the gravest question before the Church is always God Himself, and the most portentous fact about any man is not what he at a given time may say or do, but what he in his deep heart conceives God to be like.”

I wholeheartedly agree. What we believe about God and how we think of God will greatly affect our lives. A low view of God produces a low form of living. A high view of God produces a high form of living.

Over the next several weeks we will look at a series of message around the theme of this morning’s message, “God is Big, Really Big!”We will see over the next several weeks that…

  • God’s Answers are Bigger than my Questions
  • God’s Wisdom is Bigger than my Confusion
  • God’s Comfort is Bigger than my Sorrow
  • God’s Courage is Bigger than my Fear
  • God’s Grace is Bigger than my Sin
  • God’s Provisions are Bigger than my Needs
  • God is Big Enough to Use Little Old Me

Let me say at the outset that there is no way that I can describe God. It can’t be done in one message. It can’t be done in a series of messages. God is way past our ability to understand. I have heard it said, “You can’t fathom God, but you can find God.” We find Him through faith.

When I say, “God is big, really big!” I must consider how He exists outside our natural boundaries of time and space. This morning we saw that (1) God is Eternal (Time), and (2) God is Infinite (Space). I showed several slides of photos taken by the Hubbell Telescope. This message was a real challenge, but also a real encouragement. You can listen to this sermon by following this link or visit our sermons page.

Leave a Reply

