My Thanksgiving List

Many years ago as H.A. Ironside was sitting in a crowded restaurant.  Just as Ironside was about to begin his meal, a man approached and asked if he could join him. Ironside invited his to have a seat. Then, as was his custom, Ironside bowed his head in prayer. When he opened his eyes, the other man asked, “Do you have a headache?” Ironside replied, “No, I don’t.” The other man asked, “Well, is there something wrong with your food?” Ironside replied, “No, I was simply thanking God as I always do before I eat.” The man said, “Oh, you’re one of those, are you? Well, I want you to know I never give thanks. I earn my money by the sweat of my brow and I don’t have to give thanks to anybody when I eat. I just start right in!”  Ironside said, “Yes, you’re just like my dog. That’s what he does too!”

We live in a day where people are ungrateful. God commands us to be thankful. In other words Thanksgiving is our duty. God also tells us about the great blessings that accompany our praises. Therefore Thanksgiving is our delight. In Psalm 103, we see the Psalmist declaring his attitude of gratitude. I challenge you to make out a list of things for which you are thankful. The Psalmist gives us a head start in Psalm 103. You can listen to this message by following this link or visit our sermons page.

Leave a Reply

